Dorothy Hegarty Award Winners 2012

///Dorothy Hegarty Award Winners 2012

Dorothy Hegarty Award Winners 2012

ATLA staff writer

The Dorothy Hegarty Award for the best article published in ATLA volume 40, 2012, has been won by Uwe Marx, Silke Hoffmann, Gerd Lindner, Reyk Horland and Roland Lauster (Department of Biotechnology, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany), Heike Walles (Universität Würzburg, Germany), Frank Sonntag and Udo Klotzbach (Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik IWS, Dresden, Germany), Dmitry Sakharov (SRC Bioclinicum, Moscow, Russia), and Alexander Tonevitsky (Moscow State University, Russia). Their paper, ‘Human-on-a-chip’ developments: A translational cutting-edge alternative to systemic safety assessment and efficiency evaluation of substances in laboratory animals and man?’, appeared in ATLA 40, pp. 235–257.

The Award is presented annually to the author(s) of the paper published in the previous year’s volume of FRAME’s scientific journal, ATLA, which, in the opinion of the members of the Editorial Board, is likely to make the most significant contribution to the reduction, refinement and/or replacement of animal experimentation.

Each member of the ATLA Editorial Board is entitled to make up to five nominations for the Award, in rank order. As in previous years, a large variety of papers were nominated, reflecting the diversity of the work published in ATLA, and the wide range of interests of the members of the Editorial Board. Manfred Liebsch, of the ATLA editorial Board, nominated the Marx et al. paper because he felt that it was a “breath-taking vision supported by facts stemming from labs of the authors. It shows the direction in which full animal test replacement methods have to go, to be able to fully replace complex animal tests by complex models of human-based micro systems.”

You need to register (for free) to download this article. Please log in/register here.
2017-01-09T06:38:59+00:00 Tags: , |